College Station’s Ellis Tabbed to Compete for Team USA

College Station’s Ellis Tabbed to Compete for Team USA

Avery Ellis has been selected to compete for the United States at the 2012 American Quarter Horse Youth Association (AQHYA) World Cup on July 21-29, in Gut Matheshof, Krueth, Germany.

The 2012 AQHYA World Cup is co-sponsored by the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) in cooperation with affiliate organizations in each of the 16 participating countries. The event was created in 1986 and has been hosted by several countries all over the world. This year it is hosted by the Federation of European Quarter Horse Associations in Germany.
“To represent the United States in the Youth World Cup has been a dream of mine for some years,” Ellis said. “I am completely humbled and greatly honored to be a part of this amazing team.”

The U.S. will compete against Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, New Zealand, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom at the World Cup in the Bavarian Alps this July.

Ellis, an honors student at A&M Consolidated High School, has won numerous high point rider, all-around, and top ten awards in the past seven years showing quarter horses all over the United States. 

Ellis got into riding at the age of six when Jessie Highfill, a former member of Texas A&M’s varsity equestrian team gave her lessons. Since then she has ridden with a succession of Texas A&M equestrian standouts including local riding academy owner, Kate Toomey. Ellis, who now rides both western and English, currently trains with professional trainer, Nancy Cahill in Madisonville, Texas and also rides with Texas A&M equestrian team coach, Beth Bass, who along with Chrissy Hester of College Station ISD, recommended Avery for Team USA.

The five riders selected for Team USA are Brittany Donald of Corpus Christi; Avery Ellis; Logan Pluhar of Canyon, Texas; Paige Stopperich of Venetia, Pa.; and Emily Winegar of Aubrey, Texas. Five leadership team members were also selected: Jenny Bivins of Amarillo, Texas; Britt Lynch of Monroe, Ga.; Mark Mowbray of Rhodesdale, Md.; Sarah Pendergraft of Fayetteville, Ark.; and Charley Thiel of Dublin, Ohio.
Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio