CSHS journalists win awards at National Convention

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

CSHS journalists win awards at National Convention

Ten members of the Cougar yearbook and newspaper staffs at College Station High School attended the Journalism Education Association’s National Convention Nov. 15-17 in San Antonio.

Sophomore Kalin Warlick received honorable mention for yearbook student life copy and captions, and sophomore Sydni Freeman received honorable mention for portrait photography.  

Four staff members were recognized as Scholars by Walsworth Publishing: sophomore Jackie Tran and freshmen Kayla Kurmaskie, Rachel Grant and Laura Williford.

Along with more than 4,000 other student journalists from across the country.  The students attended sessions led by journalism educators and professional journalists and competed in photography and writing contests with more than 1,700 other students.

Both the yearbook and newspaper staff s are advised by Courtney Wellmann.

Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio