Multiple CSISD art students win awards in Bush Presidential Library contest

College Hills fourth grader Hsin You-Wu earned first place for her three-dimensional project titled, “College Station Re-open.”  The piece depicted the Benjamin Knox Art Gallery.  Additionally, fourth grader Harper Cunningham earned an honorable mention award for her sketch titled, “George Bush Library.”

Eleven fifth grade Art students from Cypress Grove Intermediate submitted their paper mache creature project based on traditional Oaxaca ("wah ha' ca") wood carvings from Mexico. The judges decided to jury these works as a single entry, and all eleven students were awarded  first place.  Team members from Cypress Grove include Gracie Lawhon, Alyssa Crites, Kayce Wallace, Brenna McDonald, Kathy Ding. Mayson Kalke, Sophia Amstalden, Mark Ling, Ellie Fusselman, Abbie Fikes and Lexi Munoz.

Oakwood sixth grader Savyasachi Dixit won second place in the 6-8 grade category with his artwork 'Bonfire: A Unique Tradition.”

These students will be honored at an awards ceremony on April 10 at the museum.


Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio