CSISD names four new elementary principals

Durand, the current assistant principal at Creek View, will replace Creek View Principal Tami Laza, who is retiring at the end of the school year.

Hatfield, who currently serves as Southwood Valley’s Assistant Principal, will take over for retiring College Hills principal Jane Rankin.

Current College Hills assistant principal Robyn Jones, will fill the Rock Prairie principal position, which was vacated by a resignation earlier in the year.

A&M Consolidated High School Assistant Principal Stormy Hickman has been tabbed to be the principal for Spring Creek Elementary.

“I feel like we have identified four exceptional leaders to step in a fill positions that match individual strengths with specific campus needs,”  Superintendent-elect Dr. Clark Ealy said.  “The fact that all four new principals are from within CSISD is a testament to the quality of staff we have throughout the district.”

Durand, Hatfield, and Jones will officially begin in July, while Hickman will begin her duties as principal at a later date.  Spring Creek opens in August 2015.


Jeff Durand, Principal Creek View Elementary:  Durand has been the assistant principal at Creek View Elementary since it opened in August 2009.  Prior to that, he served at the enrichment specialist at CSISD’s Forest Ridge Elementary for a year and 11 combined years teaching fourth and fifth grade in Shadow Forest Elementary in Kingwood, Texas, Heartland Elementary in Overland Park, Kans., and Helotes Elementary in Helotes, Texas. Durand earned a Bachelors in Journalism in 1995 from the University of Texas-Austin and a Master of Science in Teaching and Leadership from the University of Kansas in 2002.

Josh Hatfield, Principal College Hills Elementary:  Hatfield has been the assistant principal at Southwood Valley Elementary for the past four years.  Prior to his work in CSISD, he served as a fifth grade math and science teacher and team leader in Hempstead ISD for five years.  He earned his Bachelors in Interdisciplinary Studies in 2006 and his Masters of Educational Administration in 2010 -- both from from Prairie View A&M University.

Robyn Jones, Principal Rock Prairie Elementary:  Jones has spent her entire career in College Station ISD, serving a combined four years as assistant principal at College Hills Elementary and Southwood Valley Elementary.  Additionally, Jones has served as the Elementary Enrichment Summer School Principal for the last eight years.  Other former positions within the district include head start teacher at Southwood Valley Elementary, kindergarten and third grade teacher at Forest Ridge Elementary, Coordinator of the Texas School Ready Project, and Director and Family Engagement Specialist at the Barbara Bush Parent Center.  Jones earned her Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies from Southwest Texas State in 1997 and her Masters of Educational Administration from Texas A&M University in 2004.

Stormy Hickman, Principal Spring Creek Elementary:  Hickman has spent the last year as assistant principal at A&M Consolidated High School and the two years before that as the assistant principal at Greens Prairie Elementary.  Prior to school administration, Hickman served eight years as an English teacher at A&M Consolidated High School, along with additional duties of yearbook teacher/advisor, level leader, and English Department Chair.  Hickman earned her Bachelors in English from Texas A&M University in 2000 and her Masters in Educational Leadership from Lamar University in 2011.

Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio