Cain honored as 2014 Elementary Teacher of the Year

Cain has taught at the elementary level for 21 years, 15 of which have been spent at CSISD.  He is currently an art teacher at Greens Prairie Elementary, a position he has held for the past three years.

Cain has made contributions to both his school and his community.  One of which is the Cabbage Corner Vegetable Garden at Rock Prairie Elementary, which, according to Cain, has produced more than three tons of fresh, organic produce to the Brazos Food Bank and other food pantries.

He was also named Campus Teacher of the Year for Rock Prairie Elementary in 2002.

“Teaching is never just a job, simply defined by the wall of a classroom, nor is it defined by a clock,” Cain said, “Wherever I taught, I always considered myself a teacher of all the children, not just the children in my own classroom.”

The CSISD Elementary Teacher of the Year recipient will be a nominee for the Region VI Teacher of the Year award.

Below is a list of Campus Teachers of the Year and nominees for the Elementary Teacher of the Year award:

  • David Cain, Greens Prairie Elementary

  • David Childers, Cypress Grove Intermediate

  • Greta Gammill, South Knoll Elementary

  • Janda Moore, Southwood Valley Elementary

  • Jeanette Mitchell, Forest Ridge Elementary

  • Jeannie Carter, Creek View Elementary

  • Karen Romero, College HIlls Elementary

  • Kelly McGrath, Rock Prairie Elementary

  • Stephanie Rhodes, Pebble Creek Elementary
Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio