AMCHS cybersecurity teams advance to state-level competition

Administered by the Air Force Association, the CyberPatriot contest is a nationwide contest designed to attract students to careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics - including cybersecurity-specific fields.

The team consisting of Evan Bendiksen, Jose Chavez, Nibhan Riaz, James Cargill, and Diego Espina, placed in top 30% of competing teams in the contests’ second round to earn a platinum-tier distinction and advance to the state-level competition.  This team will compete to advance to the national competition in Washington D.C.

Additionally, three other teams earned the gold-level designation, earning them the right to compete at the state competition.  Although they will compete at state, the gold-tier competitors are not eligible to advance to nationals.  AMCHS gold-tier teams include:

  • Team 1: Sam Suh, Patrick Diaz, Philip Dusold, Sam Miller, Yuchen Gao

  • Team 2: Alejandro Cavazos, Leland Shane

  • Team 3: William Nguyen, Johnathan Chang, Gunnar Andrus, Mikolaj Pate

The state-level rounds will be held on December 5-7, 2014.

The competition places teams of high school and middle school students in the position of newly-hired IT professionals tasked with managing the network of a small company.

In the rounds of competition, teams are given a set of virtual images that represent operating systems and are tasked with finding cybersecurity vulnerabilities within the images and hardening the system while maintaining critical services in a six-hour period.  

The cybersecurity teams are coached by Bart Taylor.

Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio