Four CSISD debaters qualify for national tournament

The following AMCHS students earned national qualifications:

  • Samira Islam-Mina - Dramatic Interpretation

  • Kevin Choi - Congressional Debate (Senate)

  • Karna Venkatraj - United States Extemporaneous Speaking

  • Marley Hays - International Extemporaneous Speaking

The students qualified by competing at the Yellow Rose District Tournament.

The National Speech and Debate Tournament marks the capstone of high school speech and debate activities for nearly 130,000 students around the country. To attend, students must place among the top competitors at one of 110 district tournaments.

Qualifiers compete for more than $200,000 in college scholarships in a variety of speech, debate, and performance events.  Final rounds are judged by blue ribbon panels including CEOs, former Cabinet members, stage and screen celebrities, sponsors, and acclaimed community members.


Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio