16 CSISD students advance to state FCCLA contest

The students qualified at the Region 4 meet held in Galveston and will compete at the state competition April 9-11 in Corpus Christi.

FCCLA contests include culinary competitions, STAR events, and family and consumer science assessments.

STAR Events

STAR Events (Students Taking Action with Recognition) are competitive events in which members are recognized for proficiency and achievement in chapter and individual projects, leadership skills, and career preparation.

The following CSISD students advanced to the state competition in the STAR events:

  • Alexandra Pratt, CSHS - 1st (Interior Design)

  • Katie Marek, AMCHS -  2nd (Teach and Train)

  • Jihyo Kim, AMCHS - 3rd (Fashion Design)

  • Kaitlyn Terzian, CSHS - 4th (Entrepreneurship)

  • Bailey Welch, CSHS - 5th (Fashion Design)

  • Hannah Hejl, CSHS - 5th (Fashion Construction)

Family and Consumer Science Assessments

Family and consumer science assessments challenge a student’s knowledge of all aspects of family and consumer sciences: family career and community studies; early childhood and human development; food sciences, dietetics and nutrition; hospitality, tourism and recreation; fashion and housing design; and FCCLA knowledge.

The following CSISD students earned gold, silver, or bronze on their respective exam:

* advanced to state

  • * Ruhee Charolia, AMCHS: Gold (Etiquette)

  • * Peyton James, AMCHS: Gold (Etiquette)

  • * Amy Kumar, AMCHS: Gold (Etiquette)

  • * Aarzoo Maknojia, AMCHS: Gold (Etiquette)

  • Arwa Lakhani, AMCHS: Silver (Etiquette)

  • Shelby Lancaster, CSHS: Silver (Hospitality)

  • Kayla Nussbaum, AMCHS: Silver (Etiquette)

  • Sydney Terzian, CSHS: Silver (Education & Training)

  • Ashlynn Williams, CSHS: Silver (Fashion)

  • Haley Chatman, CSHS: Bronze (Hospitality)

  • Andrew Connoly, CSHS: Bronze (Culinary Arts)

  • Arianna McNeese, CSHS: Bronze (Fashion)


College Station High School culinary swept the top two spots in the culinary contest and advanced to state.

Jayme Holden, Kiahna Butterfield and Emma Hanks won first place and $3000 each in scholarship to Escoffier Culinary School, while Megan Clark-Tchen, Andrea Dominguez and Emily Whisenant earned second place and a $1,000 scholarship each.

The 46 teams in the contest practiced three menus and the menu item which was selected to prepare when they entered the room was herb-breaded chicken, avocado butter, sauteed asparagus and rice pilaf.


Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio