CSISD student group earns presidential service award

The students are Ann Yue, Ellen Li, Erika Salzman, Matthew Barondeau and Patrick Diaz and their advisor is Bart Taylor.

The AMCHS SkillsUSA students will be honored on stage at the opening ceremony of the National Leadership and Skills Conference, and will receive the official Presidential Volunteer Service Award pin, a certificate of achievement, and a congratulatory letter signed by the President of the United States.

To receive the award, participants had to complete a minimum of 1000 hours of community service within a 12-month period. All hours were documented and verified by representatives at each agency they served with.

Out of the hours completed this past year by AMCHS SkillsUSA, 850 of them were in service to teachers and students in College Station IDS and 30 of them were in service to the College Station community by helping raising awareness of the hazards of disposing electronics through the Electronics for the Environment program.

The award was created by President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, which was established in 2003 to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making in our communities and encourage more people to serve. The council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. The program continues as an initiative of the Corporation for National and Community Service.


Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio