Twenty CSISD seniors named National Merit Scholar Semifinalist -- CSISD has 176 semifinalists in the last 14 years


AMCHS National Merit Semifinalists (left to right):  Kelly Krenek, Dana Choe, Tian-Shu Huang, Anh Burgess, Andrew Pham, Alexis Kuppersmith, Brandon Zhao, Catarina Hurtado, Guillermo Munoz, Alena Kang Landsberg, Benjamin Lamb

CSHS National Merit Semifinalists (left to right):  Byung Jun Kim, Katherine Davis, Tony Li, Benjamin Porter, Elmira Adili, Teshan Fernando, Allison Fang, Hongsen Qin, Ellen Wang


Since 2003, CSISD has averaged an astounding 12.5 National Merit Semifinalists per year.  The 20 semifinalists in 2016 marks the highest total recorded for the district during that 14-year span.


CSISD National Merit Semifinalists (CSISD schools attended)

  • Elmira Adili (Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Anh Burgess (College Hills, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Dana Choe (Rock Prairie, Pebble Creek, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Katherine Davis (RP, CG, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Allison Fang (Rock Prairie, Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Teshan Fernando (Forest Ridge, Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Tian-Shu Huang (Pebble Creek, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Catarina Hurtado (College Hills, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Alena Kang Landsberg (College Hills, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Byung Jun Kim (Southwood Valley, College Hills, Rock Prairie, Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Kelly Krenek (Rock Prairie, Cypress Grove, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Alexis Kuppersmith (College Hills, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Benjamin Lamb (Forest Ridge, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Tony Li (Southwood Valley, Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Guillermo Munoz (College Hills, AMCHS)
  • Andrew Pham (Pebble Creek, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)
  • Benjamin Porter (Rock Prairie, Cypress Grove, CSMS, CSHS)
  • Hongsen Qin (AMCMS, CSHS)
  • Ellen Wang (CSMS, CSHS)
  • Brandon Zhao (Pebble Creek, Oakwood, AMCMS, AMCHS)

The 20 CSISD students are now in a pool of approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide and are competing for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth a total of approximately $33 million.  About 90% of the semifinalists are expected to be named finalists and of those, around half will win a National Merit Scholarship and earn the prestigious National Merit Scholar title.

Approximately 1.5 million juniors entered the 2016 scholarship program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Scholarship winners for 2017 will be announced in a series of press releases beginning in April and concluding in May.


CSISD National Merit Semifinalists by year:

2003:  7

2004:  10

2005:  9

2006:  17

2007:  17

2008:  7

2009:  16

2010:  9

2011:  11

2012:  15

2013:  14

2014:  12

2015:  12

2016:  20



Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio