CSISD newspaper staffers win big at state contest, Burgess wins Editor of the Year

Only 22 scholastic newspapers in the entire state of Texas received a gold, silver or bronze award, with only 12 receiving gold or silver awards.

Along with the high overall rankings, both staffs racked up individual awards.

Highlighting the individual awards was Vi Burgess, Editor-in-Chief of The Roar, who earned the ILPC Newspaper Editor of the Year award.

Other individual winners included:

  • Yanichka Ariunbold (AMCHS): print - 3rd place Sports Feature; HM Sports Column; HM In-Depth News/Feature Package; HM Portrait; online - 3rd place Feature Writing
  • Vi Burgess (AMCHS): print - 2nd place editorial writing; HM Entertainment Review; 1st place In-Depth News/Feature Story; HM Computer Art; HM Page One Design; 1st place Entertainment Page Design; 3rd place Entertainment Page Design; online - HM Sports Column; HM Photo Slideshow; HM Feature Photo
  • Emily Caldwell (AMCHS): online - HM Photo Slide Show
  • Noe Canchola (CSHS): print - 3rd place Sports Column; HM Sports News Writing; HM Sports Column
  • Grace Costenbader (CSHS) - print - HM News Writing; HM Feature Page Design
  • Kalindi Desai (CSHS): print - 2nd place Page One Design; 2nd place Feature Photograph; HM News Feature; HM Editorial Writing; HM Photo Story; HM Page One Design
  • Alina Dhanani (CSHS): print - 2nd place Computer Art; HM Editorial Writing; HM Sports Feature; Hm Opinion Portfolio
  • Maya Girimaji (AMCHS): online - 2nd place Entertainment Photo
  • Emelie Gulde - print - HM In-Depth News/Feature Story
  • Tiffany Ha (CSHS): print - 3rd place In-Depth News/Feature Package; HM Sports Feature; HM Entertainment Photo
  • Abby Hopkins (CSHS): print - 1st place Sports Feature Photograph, 1st place Photo Portfolio; HM Entertainment Review; HM Personal Opinion Column; ; HM In-Depth News/Feature Package; HM General News Photo
  • Drew Howerton (AMCHS): print - 3rd place Feature Writing; online - 2nd place Personal Opinion Column
  • June Jeong (AMCHS): print - 1st Place In-Depth News/Feature Story; 3rd place and HM Student Art
  • Katerina Kountakis (AMCHS): print - 3rd place Entertainment Feature; 3rd place Opinion Portfolio
  • Amelia Kurk (CSHS): print - 1st place Infographic/Sidebar; 1st place Headlines; 2nd place Opinion Writing Portfolio; 3rd place In-Depth News/Feature Package; 3rd place Infographic Sidebar; HM Editorial Writing; HM In-Depth News/Feature Package; HM In-Depth News/Feature Story; HM Double Truck Design
  • Rachel Lamb (AMCHS): print - 3rd place News Writing; HM Entertainment Feature; 3rd place Sports Page Design
  • Susan Nam (CSHS) - print - HM Student Art
  • Cella Siegelman (CSHS) - print - HM Cartoon
  • Haley Mitchell (AMCHS): print - HM Entertainment Review; HM Computer Art; 2nd place Infographic/Sidebar; HM Photo Portfolio; online - 3rd place Personal Opinion Column; 2nd place General News Photo; 3rd place Feature Photo; HM (twice): Sports Action Photo; HM Photo Portfolio
  • Sophia North (CSHS): print - 3rd in Personal Column; HM Entertainment Review
  • Drew Peacock (CSHS): print - 2nd place Portrait; HM Entertainment Review; HM Photo Story
  • Josh Weimer (AMCHS): print - 2nd place News Writing; HM In-Depth News/Feature Package
  • Jennifer Zhan (AMCHS): print - HM Feature Writing; HM Personal Column; online - 1st place Entertainment Review
  • AMCHS Staff: online - HM Social Media
  • CSHS Staff: print - 2nd place Nameplate/Folios/Standing Heads

Michael Williams and Chauncey Lindner are newspaper advisors at Consol, while Courtney Wellmann and Teresa Laffin advise the staff at CSHS.

Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio