CSISD business students qualify for state contest

The State BPA Conference will be held in Corpus Christi February 28 through March 3.


In addition, AMCHS junior Allyson Fisher was elected the 2018 Area 3 Region 2 President.  AMCHS senior Katie Gray is the outgoing president. CSHS junior, Judy Zhou, serves as BPA State Historian.


Individual Event State Qualifiers

  • Visual Basic/C# Programming: Katie Gray (AMCHS)
  • Prepared Speech - Asma Maredia (AMCHS)
  • Personal Financial Management - Jennifer Wu (AMCHS)
  • PC Servicing & Troubleshooting – Tian-Da Huang (AMCHS) and James Rude (AMCHS)
  • Payroll Accounting – Matthew Sims (AMCHS) and Joseph Liu (CSHS)
  • Medical Office Procedures – Noor Bains (AMCHS)
  • Java Programming – Roger Wang (AMCHS), Ashika Verma (CSHS), Melissa Rasmussen (AMCHS) and Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS)
  • Interview Skills – Sam Crockett (CSHS)
  • Intermediate Word Processing – Andrew Zhang (AMCHS) and Kylar Thornton (CSHS)
  • Human Resource Management – Joyce Benjamin (AMCHS)
  • Fundamentals of Web Design – David Chang (AMCHS)
  • Fundamental Word Processing – Sophia Wu (AMCHS)
  • Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications – Colter Vick (AMCHS) and Gage Dikes (CSHS)
  • Fundamental Accounting – Sarah Kassam (AMCHS) and Peter Liu (AMCHS)
  • Entrepreneurship – Taha Rahman (CSHS)
  • Database Applications – Allyson Fisher (AMCHS) and Hope Lascurain (AMCHS)
  • Computer Security – Keith Adams (AMCHS)
  • Computer Network Technology – Ahad Ali (AMCHS)
  • Computer Modeling – Mitchell Kuppersmith (AMCHS)
  • Business Law & Ethics – Romina Lasagna (AMCHS) and Grant Edens (AMCHS)
  • Basic Office Systems & Procedures – Kathy DIng (CSHS) and Ruhee Charolia (AMCHS)
  • Banking & Finance – Judy Zhou (CSHS) and Mack Callaway (AMCHS)
  • Advanced Spreadsheet Applications – Ishna Maredia (AMCHS)
  • Integrated Office Application – Akash Patel (CSHS)
  • Legal Office Procedures – Kersten Hester (CSHS)
  • C++ Programming – Reo Matsuda (CSHS)
  • Presentation Management – Jianna Cunningham (CSHS)

Individual Event State Alternates

  • Economic Research – Azaan Jamal (CSHS)
  • Prepared Speech – John Adams (AMCHS)
  • Personal Financial Management – Preston Windham (CSHS)
  • Medical Office Procedures – Maya Rasheed (AMCHS)
  • Interview Skills – Prashansa Gautam (AMCHS)
  • Fundamental Word Processing – Dan Marquardt (CSHS)
  • Fundamental Accounting – Mohammed Ali (AMCHS)
  • Extemporaneous Speech – Emmanuel Muyia (AMCHS)
  • Entrepreneurship – Brandon McCrea (AMCHS) and Nisha Bhaidani (AMCHS)
  • Basic Office Systems & Procedures – Pravalika Manchi (AMCHS)


Team Events State Qualifiers

  • Website Design – CSHS Team (Ashika Verma,Reo Matsuda, Emily Park) and AMCHS Team (Keith Adams, David Chang, Katie Gray, Melissa Rasmussen)
  • Small Business Management Team – AMCHS Team (Romina Lasagna, Matthew Sims, Colter Vick)
  • Network Design – AMCHS Team (Ahad Ali, Tian-Da Huang)   
  • Economic Research Team – AMCHS Team (Sarah Kassam, Aarzoo Maknojia) and AMCHS Team (Prashansa Gautam, Maya Rasheed)
  • Administrative Support Team – AMCHS Team (Noor Bains, Ruhee Charolia, Allyson Fisher, Ishna Maredia)
  • Financial Analyst Team – CSHS Team (Akash Patel, Azaan Jamal, Jonathan Childs, Matthew Childs)
  • Presentation Management Team - CSHS Team (Ben Crockett, Sam Crockett, Joseph Liu, Judy Zhou)

Team Events State Alternates

  • Administrative Support Team - CSHS Team (Aly Chavez, Kathy Ding, Samiha Momin, Insha Umatiya)
  • Financial Analyst Team – AMCHS Team (Joyce Benjamin, Emmanuel Muyia, James Rude) and AMCHS Team (Mohammed Ali, Mack Callaway, Grant Edens, Zachary Hassan)
  • Global Marketing Team - CSHS Team (Dan Marquardt, Rushi Patel, Taha Rahman, Raymond Wood)
  • Small Business Management Team - CSHS Team (Gentry Boring,Gage Dikes, Kylar Thornton, Preston Windham)

Open Events (any member can take these tests):

  • Financial Math and Analysis – 2. Melissa Rasmussen (AMCHS), 3. Roger Wang (AMCHS), 5. Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS)
  • Administrative Support Concepts – 2. Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS); 3. Roger Wang (AMCHS)
  • Computer Programming Concepts – 1. Katie Gray (AMCHS), 2. Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS), 3. Melissa Rasmussen (AMCHS), 5. Roger Wang (AMCHS)
  • Information Technology Concepts – 1. Tian-Da Huang (AMCHS), 2. Roger Wang (AMCHS), 5. Ahad Ali (AMCHS), 6. Keith Adams (AMCHS)
  • Business Meeting Management Concepts – 1. Roger Wang (AMCHS), 2. Katie Gray (AMCHS), 4. Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS)
  • Management/Marketing/Human Resources Concepts – 1. Shiva Saravanan (AMCHS), 3. Andrew Zhang (AMCHS), 4. Roger Wang (AMCHS), 6. Keith Adams (AMCHS)
  • Parliamentary Procedures Concepts – 2. Melissa Rasmussen (AMCHS), 5. Keith Adams (AMCHS)


Business Professionals of America sponsors are Terri Casto (AMCHS), Kathy Fisher (AMCHS), Dennis Rhodes (CSHS), and Dianne Rister (AMCHS).



Published Print
Follow us on:
College Station Independent School District
1812 Welsh College Station, TX 77840 Phone: (979) 764-5400 Fax:
Disclaimer & Legal
Powered by Edlio