College Station Independent School District

Success, Each Life...Each Day...Each Hour

2018-19 Employees of the Year

2018-19 Employees of the Year
Posted on 05/09/2019
Image of Employees of the Year

College Station High School career and technology teacher Erin Stutts was named the College Station ISD Secondary Teacher of the year and Julie Cooper, a third grade teacher at Greens Prairie Elementary was named the district’s Elementary Teacher of the Year at the annual employee awards ceremony.

In addition, Forest Ridge instructional assistant Elizabeth Gray was named CSISD Paraprofessional of the Year, while custodian Maria del Socorro Roman from Forest RIdge was named the district’s Auxiliary Employee of the Year.

The district teacher of the year winners will have an opportunity to advance through the Region 6 Education Service Center as part of the selection process for the 2020 Texas Teacher of the Year.

State winners serve as traveling ambassadors for public education with a demanding schedule of speeches, workshops, and presentations - all while continuing to teach in the classroom. It is indeed an honor to be chosen by one’s colleagues, peers, and campus as Teacher of the Year.  

In addition to recognizing employees from each campus, the district honored several retirees.

A complete list of awards is below.

Campus Teachers of the Year:

Amber Friedrich, College Hills Elementary 4th Grade

Jamee Brick, Creek View Elementary Special Education

Mandi Pipes, Forest Ridge Elementary Kindergarten

Julie Cooper, Greens Prairie Elementary 3rd Grade

Candy McGuire, Pebble Creek Elementary 2nd Grade

Sarah Payne, Rock Prairie Elementary Special Education

Angela George, South Knoll Elementary 3rd Grade

Dee Mendoza, Southwood Valley Elementary Head Start

Jaclyn Moore, Spring Creek Elementary 1st Grade

Amy Mason, Cypress Grove Intermediate Special Education

Linde Frances, Oakwood Intermediate 6th Grade

Joshua Zehnder, Pecan Trail Intermediate 6th Grade

Javan Cashaw, A&M Consolidated Middle School Science

Sheryl Harmon, College Station Middle School Career Technology Education

Stephen Alexander, Wellborn Middle School US History

Brittany Hawkins, A&M Consolidated High School Math

Connie Slayton, A&M Consolidated High School Special Education

Erin Stutts, College Station High School Career and Technology Teacher

Heather Strawn, College Station High School English

Nikki Graff, College View High School Special Education

Amanda Greathouse, College View High School Special Education

Elementary Teachers of the YearSecondary Teachers of the Year

Campus Paraprofessionals of the Year:

Laurie Harris, College Hills Elementary Principal’s Secretary

Shenicka Foley, Creek View Elementary Instructional Assistant - ISS

Elizabeth Gray, Forest Ridge Elementary Instructional Assistant - SPED

Allison Ross-Carroll, Greens Prairie Elementary Instructional Assistant - K

Alicia Wade, Pebble Creek Elementary Attendance Clerk

Juan Benavides, Rock Prairie Elementary Instructional Assistant - PE

Delilah Janac, South Knoll Elementary Instructional Assistant - SPED

Teresita Honeycutt, Southwood Valley Elementary Instructional Assistant- 2nd Gr.

Gail Burleson, Spring Creek Elementary Principal’s Secretary

Shannon Esparza, Cypress Grove Intermediate Instructional Assistant - CASL

Julie Wellmann, Oakwood Intermediate Instructional Assistant - PE

Megan Bailey, Pecan Trail Intermediate Attendance Clerk

Keisha Brown, A&M Consolidated Middle School Attendance Clerk

Sarita Diaz, College Station Middle School Instructional Assistant - SPED

Jonna Todaro, Wellborn Middle School Registrar

Lee Graebner, A&M Consolidated High School Instructional Assistant- SPED

Mary Neal, A&M Consolidated High School Assistant Principal Secretary

Danielle Valadez, College Station High School Bookeeper

Lori Reismeier, College Station High School Textbook Coordinator

Jeanine Gouge, College View High School Receptionist & Attendance Clerk

Paraprofessionals of the year

Campus/Department Auxiliary Employees of the Year:

Creek View Elementary: Carolyn Wilson (Head Custodian)

Forest Ridge Elementary: Maria del Socorro Roman (Custodian)

Southwood Valley Elementary: Maria Ostiguin (Custodian)

Oakwood Intermediate: Elsa DeLuna (Custodian)

Pecan Trail Intermediate: Rachel Higgs (CN Manager)

College Station Middle School: Leticia Chavez (Custodian)

Wellborn Middle School: Sharon Merchant (Custodian)

A&M Consolidated Middle School: Thelma Whitfield (Head Custodian)

A&M Consolidated High School: John Tohkubbi(Head Custodian),

A&M Consolidated High School: Arnold Martin (Custodian):

College Station High School: Sophie Quintero (Custodian)

College View High School: Donna McGruder (Custodian)

Spring Creek Elementary: Carolyn Rudd (Child Nutrition)

auxiliary employees of the year


Maria Alicia Diaz, Custodial Services

Matthew McDonough, Transportation

Robert Taylor, Purchasing

Maricela Vargas, Custodial Services

Bob Strawn, A&M Consolidated High School Technology

Elsie Reina, Custodial Services

Sherri Coombs, Human Resources

Diane Garrett, Facilities

Brenda Welch, Pebble Creek Elementary Principal’s Secretary

Nancy Linger, Southwood Valley Elementary Principal’s Secretary

Carol Morris, South Knoll Elementary Instructional Assistant

Kathy Barker, Rock Prairie Elementary 4th Grade Teacher

Susan Baillie, College Station High School French Teacher

Diane Brent, College Hills Elementary 3rd Grade Teacher

Mindy Casper, A&M Consolidated High School Counselor

Theresa Gardner, Rock Prairie Elementary 3rd Grade

Kristiana Hamilton, Southwood Valley Elementary Principal

Sharon Jackson Director for Early Education Services

Laurie Kopetsky, Southwood Valley Elementary 3rd Grade

Marie Leland, Spring Creek Elementary P.E. Teacher

Robert Leland, A&M Consolidated High School Art Teacher

Bette Lynne, Rock Prairie Elementary P.E. Teacher

Greg McIntyre, Chief Administrative Officer

Cynthia Mullen, Cypress Grove & Pecan Trail Intermediate Avid Teacher

Mark Pantel, Director of Purchasing

Julie Pye, A&M Consolidated High School  

Pam Rushing, Southwood Valley Elementary Music Teacher

Charles Stapp, College Station High School History Teacher

Jenny Walterscheid, A&M Consolidated Middle School Math Teacher

Vincent Hughes III, Pecan Trail Intermediate Science Teacher

Cheryl Wandler Matous, South Knoll Elementary Instructional Assistant

Debbie Lange, A&M Consolidated High School Social Studies Teacher

Mary Jean Holcomb, College Station Middle School Special Education Teacher

Kathy Switzer, Special Services Assistant Director

Sandra Barquin, Forest Ridge Music Teacher



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © PowerSchool Corporation. All rights reserved.