College Station Independent School District

Success, Each Life...Each Day...Each Hour

10 CSISD musicians selected to all-state

10 CSISD musicians selected to all-state
Posted on 01/22/2021
CSISD All-State Musicians

A total of 10 musicians from A&M Consolidated High School and College Station High School were recently selected to perform with Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) All-State Band, Choir or Orchestra.

All-state band members include a trio of CSHS students: Anderson Kurk, Jack Montgomery and Noah Zhou. The recognition was the second in a row for Kurk.

In choir, Lauren Moore (AMCHS), Silas Merrell (AMCHS) and Elliott Lewis (CSHS) earned the coveted all-state honor.  Moore’s all-state citation was her second consecutive.

Sabrina Hu (AMCHS), Hannah Jeong (CSHS), Jeremy No (AMCHS) and Sophia Wu (AMCHS) were elected to the all-state orchestra.

All-State Musicians

In addition, four musicians were named alternates: Ben Roberts (CSHS) and Andrew Sorescu (AMCHS) in band and Emma Barrow (AMCHS) and Carson Seiber (AMCHS) in choir.

High school students selected to perform in the all-state concerts have competed through auditions to qualify at the state level. All-state is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. 

Exactly 1,795 students are selected through a process that began with more than 66,800 students from around the state vying for this honor to perform in one of 15 ensembles in band, orchestra and choir. 

This competitive process begins throughout the state in auditions hosted by 33 TMEA regions. Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. 

From this ranking, a select group of musicians advance from their respective region to compete against musicians from other areas in eight TMEA area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians qualify to perform in a TMEA all-state music group. Only the top 2.6% of musicians who initially audition become all-state musicians.

TMEA is an organization of more than 13,000 school music educators dedicated to promoting excellence in music education.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © PowerSchool Corporation. All rights reserved.